Refreshingly Green!

With my husband bringing burritos home for dinner and it being a British heatwave outside, I wanted something light, healthy and refreshing for lunch.  And what’s more refreshing than a cool, green smoothie!  This time I’m leaving out the peanut butter and flax and going with cucumber & OJ.

This recipe is 100% concocted and developed by moi.

  • 2 handfuls of spinachDSC_0753
  • 1 frozen banana, quartered
  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled and quartered
  • 3 Tbsp OJ concentrate + 8 oz water or 8 oz of orange juice
  • 1/2 small avocado (I’m saving the other half for my burrito tonight)
  • 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice
  1. Place all in blender and mix on high until fully liquefied.  Keep it cool and Serve over ice.

DSC_0756  DSC_0758  DSC_0760

A few quick pointers:

1. Peel bananas before freezing them.  Although it was much easier to just throw my bananas in the freezer yesterday, peel and all – my fingers are nearly frost bitten after attempting to peel a frozen banana.  I eventually found it easier when I cut the banana in quarters and then made slight knife indentations lengthwise to take the peel off in sections.

2. After slicing my avocado in half and removing the pit, I used my knife to peel the skin (alternatively you could use a spoon to scoop out the flesh.  To preserve the second half for later, I left it in the peel and placed a few drops of lemon juice over the exposed portion to prevent browning.

Hope you enjoy!DSC_0765

Leave a Reply

